Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Trending Keshav Dutt, Prasun Banerjee chosen for Mohun Bagan Ratna

Two-time Olympic gold medallist Keshav Dutt and former India Football CaptainPrasun Banerjee will be conferred the 'Mohun Bagan Ratna' during its annual daycelebrations on the 29th of this month.

Mohun Bagan will also felicitatepacer Mohammed Shami, India's hat-trick hero of the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup,while Ashok Chatterjee will be given the Lifetime Achievement award.

The Mariners will also give Life Memberships to Sourav Ganguly, ChuniGoswami, Dr Vece Paes, Prasenjit Chatterjee and Deb Shankar Halder.

One of the oldest surviving hockey Olympians of the country, 94-year-old Duttdonned the national jersey in the 1948 London Games, where India won the firstgold post Independence, and the former centre halfback won his second Olympicgold in Helsinki 1952.

This is for the first time Mohun Bagan's executive committee has decided toconfer their highest honour to a non-footballer.

July 29 is celebrated as the 'Mohun Bagan Day' because on this day in 1911, theMariners became the first club to defeat a British club, East YorkshireRegiment, and lift the IFA Shield.

Credit: Newsonair

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)