Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update Alex Carey included in Australia Test squad for South Africa tour

[Image: wade-averaged-just-21-in-the-s.jpg]

Matthew Wade has been axed from Australia's Test squad for the tour of South Africa and has been replaced by Alex Carey as Cricket Australia named a 19-man contingent for the three-Test series. Wade will travel with the T20I side to New Zealand for the five-match series with Australia playing two tours at the same time.

While the squad will leave for New Zealand on February 7, the tour to South Africa, where Australia will play three Tests, "remains subject to satisfactory biosecurity arrangements". While head coach Justin Langer will head to South Africa, the T20I side will be coached by Andrew McDonald.

Apart from Carey, the squad also includes four more uncapped players in Sean Abbott, Michael Neser, Mitchell Swepson and Mark Steketee. "The Australian men's T20I tour of New Zealand and Australian men's Test tour of South Africa are important to both host boards and we have been working constructively with their respective management teams on the planning for both tours," Ben Oliver, Cricket Australia's Executive General Manager, National Teams, said.

"We do not envisage replicating concurrent Australian men's tours in the future, but we appreciate the need to do so now to assist our friends around the world during this challenging period for international sport and given the additional time requirements of mandatory quarantine periods."

Wade, in four Test and eight innings against India at home, averaged just 21.62 with 173 runs coming from his bat. He got several starts - and crossed the 30-run mark four times - but failed to convert every single one of those. "The squad is quite similar to that selected for the final two Tests of the recently-completed Border-Gavaskar series, with the exception of Matt Wade, who will join the Australian men's T20I squad in New Zealand, and the addition of Alex Carey, who has been in strong form with both bat and gloves," Trevor Hohns, the national selector, said.

"David Warner, Will Pucovski and Marcus Harris all opened at different stages against India and should be well-suited to the conditions in South Africa. Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith were in good form during the Australian summer and Travis Head has an opportunity to reclaim the No. 5 spot.

"We've been very impressed with Cameron Green's first foray into Test cricket as an all-rounder batting at No. 6 and we have great depth with the in-form Moises Henriques also in the squad. Tim Paine was excellent at No.7 against India and as a batsman, wicketkeeper and captain still has much to offer in the Test arena."

Jhye Richardson, who last played a T20I in February 2019, has impressed in the Big Bash with 27 wickets in 14 matches and finds a place in the T20I squad. The selectors have also included 19-year-old Tanveer Sangha after his impressive performance with Sydney Thunder, where he has 21 wickets from 14 games. "The batting line-up will be strengthened by the inclusion of Matt Wade, who joins fellow experienced internationals such as Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, D'Arcy Short and Ashton Turner," Hohns pointed out.

"Adam Zampa has developed into one of the best spinners in international white-ball cricket and we have been most impressed by Tanveer Sangha, who has been brilliant throughout the pathways and with the Sydney Thunder this season.

"We are similarly buoyant about our fast bowling stocks. Jhye Richardson, Riley Meredith and Jason Behrendorff have all impressed during the BBL and Kane Richardson and Andrew Tye are proven performers on the international stage."

Test squad - Tim Paine ©, Pat Cummins, Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Moises Henriques, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

T20I squad - Aaron Finch ©, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, D'Archy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.


Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)