Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update BCCI approves 10-team IPL from 2022 edition

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday approved the inclusion of two new franchises in the Indian Premier League (IPL) when it held its 89th AGM in Ahmedabad.

IPL presently comprises eight teams, the same number of franchises with which the league had started back in 2008. However, in 2011, IPL did have ten teams with the addition of Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala, but it lasted for only one season. Kochi Tuskers became defunct the following season and IPL was reduced to nine teams. Deccan Chargers became defunct ahead of IPL 2013 and a new franchise, Sunrisers Hyderabad was added to the set up as IPL headed with nine teams in the 2013 edition as well before getting reduced to eight teams as Pune Warriors became defunct.

"Two new teams will be introduced in the 2022 IPL," a Board source told PTI.

Also, it was decided that all first-class players, both men and women, will be suitably compensated for the curtailed domestic season due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The BCCI plans to get the domestic season underway, after several months' delay, in January with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 championship.

In other decisions, veteran Congress leader Rajiv Shukla has officially anointed the Board's vice president in place of his protege Mahim Verma from Uttarakhand.

It was also learned that the general body decided in favour of Sourav Ganguly continuing as a director in the ICC Board.

Secretary Jay Shah will be the alternate director as well as India's representative at the Chief Executive Committee meets of the global body.


Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)