Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update Gurpreet Singh Sandhu and Sanju declared winners of AIFF Player of the Year Awards

[Image: sandhu-1568700681.jpg]

Indian men's team goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu and women's squad's mid-fielder Sanju were on Friday declared the winners of the All India Football Federation (AIFF) Footballer of the Year awards for the 2019-20 season.

This is the first time Gurpreet has received the award, and in the process he became the second goalkeeper after Subrata Paul in 2009 to be named the AIFF Player of the Year.

Gurpreet was elected as the winner on the basis of votes from Indian Super League and I-League club coaches.

"There was always a desire to reach this point and this is an award which I have always looked up to. Chhetri-bhai (Sunil Chhetri) has won it so many times and I have always thought when I can be worthy enough to win it," Gurpreet said.

"Huge thanks go to AIFF and everyone who has supported and helped me relentlessly to help me achieve this today."

"Garnering the all-important draw against Asian Champions Qatar in Doha, eleven clean sheets in last Indian Super League edition, winning the Golden Glove award could not have been possible without the team," he added.

The 28-year-old had also received the Arjuna Award last year.


Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)