Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update Lakmal replaces Kumara in SL white-ball squad for WI tour

Suranga Lakmal will replace COVID19-positive pacer Lahiru Kumara in the white-ball leg of Sri Lanka's upcoming tour of West Indies.

Kumara was a part of the 20-member squad originally picked by the Sri Lanka Cricket board and approved by the country's sports ministry, but returned a positive test ahead of departure that ruled him out of the limited-overs series. Meanwhile, Lakmal returns after having last played a limited-overs game for Sri Lanka on their 2019 tour of South Africa.

The national selection panel has opted for split captaincy and Dimuth Karunaratne will handover the leadership duties to Dasun Shanaka, who has been appointed Sri Lanka's new T20I skipper.

Former captain Dinesh Chandimal returns to the fold having last played a T20I in October 2018 and an ODI the following January on Sri Lanka's tour of New Zealand. Sri Lanka themselves have not played any white-ball internationals since the home series against West Indies last March.

Sri Lanka's leading spinner Akila Dananjaya, who had been cleared to bowl again in international cricket last month after remodelling his action, will also be in line for his comeback having served the 12-month suspension.

Off-break allounrder Ramesh Mendis, who made his Test debut against England at Galle last month, has earned a maiden call-up for the series, along with the uncapped batting duo Pathum Nissanka and Ashen Bandara. The 20-year-old pacer Dilshan Madushanka, who represented Sri Lanka in the most recent Under-19 World Cup, has also been rewarded with his maiden national call-up

Sri Lanka are visiting West Indies for a full tour, comprising three T20Is, beginning March 3. The ODIs follow, on March 10, 12 and 14 and the tour concludes with two Tests, the squad for which will be announced in due course. All games, including a two-day practice match best the Tests, will be played in Antigua.

SquadBig Grinimuth Karunaratne ©, Dasun Shanaka, Danushka Gunathilake, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilshan Madushanka, Suranga Lakmal.


Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)