Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update Messi, Ronaldo not part of UEFA Men's Player of the Year list for 1st time since 2010

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo not part of UEFA Men's Player of the Year list for first time since 2010

[Image: ronaldo-messi-1578040899.jpg]

Champions League winner Bayern Munich dominated the shortlists announced Wednesday for UEFA’s 2019-20 season awards in European soccer.

Bayern forward Robert Lewandowksi, who scored a career-best 55 goals for his club last season, and goalkeeper Manuel Neuer were nominated for men’s player of the year in Europe after a dominant season with the treble-winning German team.

The third nominee was Kevin de Bruyne, who won the players' vote in England and starred as Manchester City reached the Champions League quarterfinals and finished second in the Premier League to Liverpool.

This implies that for the first time since 2010, neither of Cristiano Ronaldo nor Lionel Messi is part of the Men's Player of the Year list. Ronaldo still heads the list with three awards - 2013/14, 2015/16 and 2016/17, while Messi was adjudged as the winner twice - 2010/11 and 2014/15.


Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)