Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update Perth, Melbourne awarded BBL fixtures as CA confirm full draw

Western Australia, New South Wales and Victoria have been confirmed to host BBL games in January "subject to the public health situation and associated impacts including border restrictions." Tasmania, Queensland and South Australia were announced as the venues for the upcoming 2020-21 edition earlier.

The first of the five matches at the Optus Stadium in Perth will be played on January 3; four out of these games will be home matches for the Perth Scorchers. From January 13, the BBL will be played in Sydney and Melbourne. Sydney will host eight matches in total, with four each at the Sydney Cricket Ground and Sydney Showground Stadium.

Melbourne will host 11 matches in total. Five of these will be held at Marvel Stadium and six at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Additional matches have also been confirmed for the Adelaide Oval (three), the Gabba (two), Metricon Stadium (four) and Blundstone Arena (two) in early January.

"The League is delighted to confirm the boldest schedule in Australian sport since the pandemic began by committing to take matches to every club's home market in BBL|10," Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia's Head of Big Bash Leagues, said. "This schedule is a testament to the strength of the League and ensures our fans around the country will get the chance to see their BBL Clubs in action on home soil."

Additionally, Cricket Australia has held off selling tickets for December games at the Adelaide Oval owing to the rising number of COVID-19 cases in the state. "The League is monitoring the situation in South Australia closely and is working with governments to understand its impact on the BBL|10 season," an official release said. "Information regarding tickets for remaining matches will be made available in due course."


Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)