Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav earn call-ups for England ODIs

[Image: prasidh-picked-up-14-wickets-f.jpg]

Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav and Krunal Pandya are the new faces in the Indian ODI squad for the upcoming three-match series against England. The All-India Senior Selection Committee, led by Chetan Sharma, announced an 18-member squad for the ODI series against England, with Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini and Mohammed Shami being the ones missing from the ODI team that was picked for the Australia tour.

Prasidh, who has played for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL, had a good run in the recently concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy in which he picked up 14 wickets in seven matches at an average of 24.5. Suryakumar, a proven performer in the domestic circuit and the IPL, finally got a break during the T20I series against England, with the Mumbai batsman scoring a crucial half-century in the fourth T20I. He also did well in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, accumulating 332 runs in five matches at an average of 66.40, including a century and two fifties.

All-rounder Krunal, who has been part of the T20I set-up in the past, scored two unbeaten centuries and two fifties for Baroda in the domestic 50-over tournament recently. Krunal's presence makes up for the absence of Ravindra Jadeja who is still on the road to full fitness since picking up an injury in Australia.

Meanwhile, Prithvi Shaw and Devdutt Padikkal, the top-two run-getters in the Vijay Hazare Trophy and both openers, haven't made the cut, with several opening options already available. One of them is Rohit Sharma, who returns to the ODI set-up having missed the 50-over games against Australia, while Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill and KL Rahul are the other openers in the team.

Bhuvneshwar, who made his India return in the T20I series against England after a lengthy absence from international cricket (a spate of injuries kept him out since December 2019), finds a place in the 50-over side. Bumrah, who is on a personal break, hasn't been considered while T Natarajan returns after missing the first four T20Is against England. Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur are the other pacers in the squad. Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sudar and Krunal are the spin options available for India for the ODI series.

The three ODIs, scheduled for March 23, 26 and 28, will be held at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune.

Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur.


Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)