Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update Stokes named BBC Sports Personality of the Year

[Image: ben-stokes-was-the-man-of-the.jpg]

It was a hat trick of wins for English cricket at the BBC's Sports Personality of the Year awards on Sunday evening in Aberdeen. The World Cup-winning squad were crowned Team of the Year while Jos Buttler's run out of Martin Guptill in the final at Lord's was voted the Greatest Sporting Moment of the Year. And then the big one: Ben Stokes became the first cricketer to win the main Sports Personality of the Year award since Andrew Flintoff in 2005. For a sport not always front and centre in the national consciousness, it was quite an evening.

The main award voted on by the public, is given to the athlete whose performances most captured the attention of that very public during the year. Previous winners have included Andy Murray, Jonny Wilkinson and Steve Redgrave. This year, Stokes finished ahead of Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton and athlete Dina Asher-Smith, who were second and third respectively. He is just the fifth cricketer to win the award, following in the footsteps of Flintoff, Sir Ian Botham, David Steele and Jim Laker.

Read full

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)