Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to start from January 10

India's 2020-21 domestic season will kick off with the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, which is set to take place from January 10 to 31, Jay Shah, the BCCI secretary, stated in an email to all the state units of the Board of Control for Cricket in India on Sunday (December 31).

The decision was taken following the suggestions from all state associations on which tournament they would prefer playing in the pandemic-hit cricket season. Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy had emerged as the favourite, while there was an almost equal preference for Ranji Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy as the second-choice tournament for the season.

The teams have been asked to assemble at their respective venues, which are yet to be finalised, on January 2, 2021. Cricbuzz understands that the board officials have spoken to various associations to ascertain their readiness to host the tournament but they are yet to finalize on the venues.

"Having gone through your responses, in accordance with the feedback received, I'm pleased to inform you that BCCI is planning to start the 2020-21 domestic season with the scheduling for the T20 tournament for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy," Shah wrote in an email accessed by Cricbuzz.

"The BCCI will seek further feedback from the members on organising any other tournament/tournaments and the decision will take place after the group stage of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy," he added. "Further details pertaining to Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be finalised soon."

Meanwhile, the last date for the inter-state transfer of cricketers for the season has been extended to December 20, 2020


Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)