Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update T20 World Cup Qualification set for overhaul from 2021

The qualification system for T20 World Cup is set to be overhauled for the 2021 edition, with the 14-team Global T20 Qualifier cut and replaced with two smaller qualification tournaments, each featuring eight teams. Below these two tournaments, the (Sub) Regional ladder that served as a pathway for 2020 also sees some changes, with fewer tournaments for the Africa, Asia, Americas and East Asia Pacific regions, albeit likely with no substantial reduction in the total number of participating teams.

The 12 teams making up the Super 12 stage of the 2020 tournament will gain automatic qualification for the 2021 edition, effectively meaning that the top eight sides at the time of the 2020 cut-off (31 December 2018) who receive a bye to the Super 12s - namely Pakistan, India, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, the West Indies and Afghanistan - are also guaranteed qualification for 2021. The four of the eight further qualifiers for 2020 that win through the "first round" to the Super 12s - Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Ireland, Scotland and Oman - will also win direct qualification, with the remaining four sides dropping back into one of the two new supra-regional qualifiers.

Read more

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)