Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Update Women's T20 Challenge to be held from November 4 to 9

[Image: mithali-raj-harmanpreet-kaur.jpg]

Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj have again been named as captains of Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity respectively for the 2020 edition of the Women's T20 Challenge. The BCCI announced the schedule and the squads on Sunday (October 11) with the three round-robin games to be played on November 4, 5 and 7 while the final will be played on November 9.

The venues are yet to be announced by the BCCI while all the matches will begin at 7:30 PM IST (6:00 PM UAE time), same time as the evening games of the IPL. Last year's champions Supernovas take on Velocity in the opening game on November 4. Velocity and Trailblazers face off on November 5 followed by the Trailblazers vs Supernovas clash on November 7.

The all-India Women's Selection Committee named three squads consisting 15 members each, including four overseas players in each team. Chamari Athapaththu, Shashikala Siriwardene, Shakera Selman and Ayabonga Khaka are part of Supernovas. Deandra Dottin, Sophie Ecclestone and Salma Khatun have been named in the Trailblazers team, which also includes Natthakan Chantham - the first Thailand cricketer to feature in the tournament. Danielle Wyatt, Leigh Kasperek, Sune Luus and Jahanara Alam are part of the Velocity team.

Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Natalie Sciver, Stafanie Taylor, Amelia Kerr, Lea Tahuhu, Hayley Matthews are the overseas players from the previous season who aren't part of the Women's T20 Challenge this year. This has to do with the tournament clashing with the Women's Big Bash League in Australia that begins on October 25 and runs until November 29. Alyssa Healy, Rachael Haynes and Bates were among those who had expressed their disappointment about the clash in schedules of the two competitions.


Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur ©, Jemimah Rodrigues (VC), Chamari Athapaththu, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (WK), Shashikala Siriwardene, Poonam Yadav, Shakera Selman, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Ayushi Soni, Ayabonga Khaka, Muskan Malik

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana ©, Deepti Sharma (VC), Punam Raut, Richa Ghosh, D. Hemalatha, Nuzhat Parween (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Jhulan Goswami, Simaran Dil Bahadur, Salma Khatun, Sophie Ecclestone, Natthakan Chantham, Deandra Dottin, Kashvee Gautam

Velocity: Mithali Raj ©, Veda Krishnamurthy (VC), Shafali Verma, Sushma Verma (WK), Ekta Bisht, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Devika Vaidya, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Manali Dakshini, Leigh Kasperek, Danielle Wyatt, Sune Luus, Jahanara Alam, M. Anagha.


Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)